Inside Looking Out

I feel like a statue, and in a way

I am.

But they gather around me,

And peep inside.

They bow and close eyes,

And light candles before me.

I see familiar faces, and only those

I’ve seen once.

They know me not, but still they kneel.

Still, they pray.

I look beyond the cryptic and find familiarity.

Tears are shed by fluttering butterflies,

All in white.

Dark blues stand strong yet shake inside.

I go up in a few and I shall never return.

Yet visit, maybe…

Send a postcard or two wrapped in red and blue.

 

 

Leave a Reply

