Culled From My Soul: A Verse Collection

Just a couple of verses I spewed out of inspiration after today’s visit to NCMH. 🙂

Within

You didn’t need to tell me

You didn’t need to say a word.

I could see the story in your eyes.

I could see the future that was never there.

I could see the past that made you happy.

I could see you

I could see me

I could see your reality

I could hear the words you longed to speak

And the life you wished to have.

I could see the pictures you once drew

And the goodbyes you never got a chance to say.

You didn’t need to tell me

You didn’t need to say a word.

Your eyes tell it all.

To The One Who Never Speaks

 

Know that I saw a lot of myself in you.

How your hands shook

How you couldn’t stop

How your eyes would never look right at me.

Often, you looked forward: as though in anticipation

Of something that never came.

You looked to me as though you needed answers

I saw no emotion in those eyes.

All I saw was a reflection.

I remember those times when you would feel fleeting joy

And make me smile; just as you did.

For a second, you would laugh.

That was it.

I saw no happiness in that laugh.

All I saw was a reflection.

I saw the thin marks on your wrist

And I saw how you hid them.

I saw the hurt in your eyes and in the way you tried to fix things

That could never be fixed.

I saw no pain in those scars.

All I saw was a reflection.

Lost In Imaginarium

 

There’s a world out there

And I’ve found it.

It has yellow flowers

And yellow trees with yellow stems;

And black land with no soil.

There’s no sun in this world.

There’s no bright future; no tomorrow.

The flowers imprison the sun

And sit in the land, at the middle of the grass

With brown leaves and green stems.

There’s a world out there

With names and faces and bodies on the street

And a sun that shines in the day

And a moon that glows in the night.

There’s a home in this world,

With food on the table every night and prayers sent up every Sunday

Like gifts for an early Christmas.

There’s a world out there…

There’s a world out there.

Leave a Reply

