A Severe Case of Shear Annoyance: A “Review” of the White Queen

Just like anyone eager to get to know a new television series, I approached the White Queen with nothing but high hopes. I did my research (also known as reading the Wikipedia synopsis), searched up the file, and waited. Little did I know my innocent quest to watch more of David Oakes would end up being so disappointing. Instead of watching all seven (or was it nine?) episodes of the miniseries, I ended up watching only three. After that, I gave up and decided to move on to ‘greener’ pastures: also known as Game of Thrones.

In case you’re wondering why (and at this point, I’m sure you are)… I had a valid reason. But it wasn’t the plot that did it in for me– nor was it Max Irons. To be honest, it was all because of Elizabeth Woodville (played by Rebecca Ferguson), the titular character of the White Queen.

Believe me, I tried my best to find something positive about her– the problem was, I just couldn’t. Believe me, I wanted to root for her (she is, after all, the protagonist, is she not?), but I just couldn’t. Unlike the other period females I came to know last semestral break (namely Cersei Lannister from Game of Thrones, and Lucretia Borgia from the Borgias), Elizabeth Woodville was simply… blah. On the one hand, I saw a devoted mother figure, but that was it. Dear readers of The Cousins’ War, tell me, is she really meant to be this way? Should I have waited until the end just to see her develop into a character of substance? Should I have been patient? Or should I have just read the book?

I really don’t know– I just couldn’t bear to watch another episode because of her. To think, she isn’t even one of the more villainous female characters in television and yet she wasn’t even magnetic enough. Other television villains do worse things, and yet they manage to keep viewers hooked! It makes me wonder what was up with the White Queen.

Oh, I don’t know. Maybe I just made a mistake with this show– maybe I should’ve read the book and then went back to the show afterwards. Maybe that will help me appreciate the show better, maybe that’s when I’ll better understand Rebecca Ferguson’s character. Maybe…

I’d love to comment about the other aspects of the show, but I feel like I didn’t manage to get a firm hold on the White Queen from the three episodes I watched. Perhaps I could say more after I’ve read the book and (hopefully!) gone back to the show in a matter of months.

Leave a Reply

