Breaking Silence: Slices, Chunks, and Pieces of Life Return!

Late nights are always the best time to write. Known to some as the threshold of fatigue and shear epiphany, these few hours of pure darkness are surprising little moments: the times in life when the oddest inspirational moments can come crashing down and you have absolutely no choice but to indulge them.

I honestly wish that my decision to write at this late hour had been brought about by such a circumstance. I’m afraid, my dear readers, recent occurrences (read: life outside my computer screen), have not given me much free time to use my keyboard as much as I want to. This particular moment in time happens to be my most ‘independent hour’: a period that is the threshold between my time for rest and class in six or so hours.

Anyways… I’ll get to my point.

A Whole New World: Advertising

I’ve switched myself this semester, and I’ve opted to take Advertising courses in school. I won’t say much (since further conversation could lead to turning this into a diary entry), but I will say this: it’s a whole new, intimidating new world, a challenge to push me right out of my journalist comfort zone. It’s too early in the semester to say, but I really hope things pay off.

Dramarama Sa Hapon: The PDAF Jail Tales

I didn’t do much reading about the arrest stories of PDAF’s top convicts Senators Bong Revilla and (oh man, what’s his name again?) Ejercito. But I have to say, I was irked by the media’s decision to chronicle their several detention related complaints. Instead of spending this paragraph (and my time) complaining about how spoiled they are, I only wish to say that I hope this teaches the Filipino voting public a lesson about which leaders to choose once election hour approaches. I honestly hope and pray that come 2016, we opt not to make these mistakes repeat themselves.

Dapat WaLUNG cancer: The Sad Truth of Miriam’s Plight

I was one of the many Filipinos that was nothing short of heartbroken upon learning of the news that Senator Miriam Santiago has been diagnosed with stage four lung cancer. First of all, lung cancer? She didn’t seem like the smoker type to me. Second of all, why God… WHY? It’s hard enough that Filipinos are literally pushing themselves to still have faith in the political system… so why are you slowly taking away one of the main reasons why they still hope for progress???

I can only hope and pray and dream that the beloved senator gets well very, very soon. She is very much an inspiration to all. I personally believe that aspiring politicians should look to Miriam as a prime example of a tenacious politician. I hardly think she’s the most perfect legislator in our country’s history, but she is one of the more consistent ones. Plus, her credentials are incredible in their own right!

Give Nora the Aunor! 

I am personally quite unfamiliar with Nora Aunor’s recent exploits, but I do know one thing: she DESERVES to be honored as a National Artist. I have yet to enlighten myself on the story behind whether or not her drug allegations were true, but if they weren’t, I believe Nora deserves a formal apology. I mean, who wouldn’t feel ashamed of having been called out for (possibly false) drug abuse charges by the president of your home country? #medyonakakahiya.

The Haze of Hazing 

Before I go on further, I would like to extend my deepest condolences to the family of the DLSU-CSB student who was killed because of hazing. I have to say, though, I was even more surprised that hazing is still a thing these days. Call me snobbish, but I thought those things went out with MySpace (lol).

I’m KIDDING! Hehe. Okay, I get it: fraternities and sororities uphold traditions, and have their own little worlds. But why do those worlds have to involve physical abuse just to get in? Haay– some traditions are just plain stupid. (But I’ll never understand, since I’m not part of a frat! Well, with all do respect, IDGAF).

P.S. Hoping that the Guidon considers a feature story on Frats in the Philippines? 😀

 

Feels Tripping: On the Power of Advertising 

While browsing my Twitter feed a few weeks back, I came across this powerful ad from Whisper. Aimed at female preteen empowerment, the 2:00 minute commercial featured young women, a boy and little girls being asked about the connotation of the term like a girl. The early part of the advertisement had interviewers ask young women and a young boy how they thought a girl ran. The ad then asked the same question to young girls. There was a noticeable difference in how the young women and the young girls demonstrated this action: while the young women stuck with the stereotypical definition of ‘running like a girl’, the young girls featured in the ad were shown to run quite normally. Once told of how actual young girls portrayed the ‘running like a girl’ stereotype, the young women shown earlier in the advertisement changed their portrayals of how they ran, choosing to run like their normal selves.

Needless to say, the message of the commercial was one that resonated with me. It made me gain some form of respect and renewed interest in Advertising, and how the right ads can not only sell products, but advocacy as well. Yes, Advertising may be one of the many powerful tools behind Capitalism, but it is a tool that is not as one-sided as we think. With the right words, visuals and execution, advertising can be a tool for positive change.

 

 

I’m off to bed. Shabuya. X

 

 

Leave a Reply

